Montréal’s Historic Style at the Ruby Foo's Hotel
Learn About Our Iconic History
Delivering high-end, personalized services to our guests while enabling them to neutralize their environmental traveler footprint and have a positive impact on local communities through our various sustainability programmes.
- Team Spirit
The Ruby Foo’s brand has been a mainstay in Montréal culture for over half a century. The restaurant opened in the late 1950’s and established itself as the place to see and be seen. Politicians, Broadway stars and movie actors, as well as the business and sporting elite, all made Ruby Foo’s the top spot in the city. It was class personified, fun and lively.
The hotel first opened its doors in 1962 and quickly became an ideal destination for both business and leisure travelers. In 1984, a group of developers acquired the property with the vision of turning it into a 198-room hotel complex, including a mini-convention centre, a restaurant, commercial space and an office tower. While the original restaurant was closed for good in 1984, the Ruby Foo’s Hotel complex was re-launched with great fanfare on November 25, 1988.
In recent years, a multi-million-dollar investment and the architectural firm of Lemay Michaud – which has built a stellar reputation for its work on luxury and boutique hotels throughout Canada and North America – has seen the hotel once again take its place among the city’s finest. The 4-star complex boasts 198 spacious bedrooms, 6,000 square feet of meeting space in eight banquet halls, two restaurants and a barbershop.